Paris – France

I never thought I would ever be traveling to PARIS! I was ecstatic when I saw CDG (Charles de Gaulle Airport) on my roster.

When we arrived at the hotel it was mid day. I knew I had to carry on with the day else I would fall asleep and not wake up till midnight. Another thing with Paris flights is that often most of the crew have already been to the city and done all the sight seeing. So luckily Yan and I, a Chinese girl decided to head out to the city as she had also never been to Paris before. Unfortunately the hotel is situated quite far from the city (ie Eiffel Tower).

Yan and I caught the shuttle to the airport and then the train all the way to the city. It was about an hour trip BUT it was so worth it! As we came out the train station we were right under the Eiffel Tower!! It was crazy both our faces lit up. And then the cameras shot out.

As we walked along the canal next to the Eiffel Tower we came to the bridge and we noticed there was quite a bit of commotion going on. Yan and I got closer to see what was going on. As we got closer I noticed that it was a game that people play to try rip off the tourists. It’s a game with three cups and they place a ball under the one and then swap the cups around. You have to keep your eye on the cup with the ball under it and then bet money on it. The lowest bid is 50 EUROS. IF you get it you double your money. We were watching and before I had said anything Yan had gone and pointed at one of the cups! They asked her to show the money and then flipped the cup over it was empty! She had lost her entire allowance for the trip. I carried on watching and then I explained the whole scam to her. There were about three people bidding each round but I noticed that all the people bidding were very tan from standing out in the sun every day. They were part of the scam. I had also seen a documentary on national geographics called Scam City. And this particular scam was one of the scams on the program.

After the drama we walked through the city, stopped off for lunch and then made our way to the Arc de Triomphe. It was quite the walk but once we got there it was insane cars zooming and hooting as they raced around the circle like it was a scene from an action movie! We then started the journey down the beautiful Champs De ร‰lysรฉes Avenue. It took us a good 20 minutes to walk half jog to the famous Le Grand Louvre. Unfortunately we did not go in and visit the Louvre Museum as we wanted to see as much as possible that day.

Yan and I really got a good work out doing all the sight seeing. We managed to get some great shots and a few selfies as well. We then made our way to the locket bridge the proper name is Pont Des Arts. I then bought a locket and placed it on the bridge with mine and Jeffrey’s name on it.

I found it really funny that I was in FRANCE, buying a lock made in SOUTH AFRICA and sold by a PAKISTANI.

After all the excitement for the day Yan and I decided it was time to head back to the hotel for a good rest before the flight the next morning. We found the closest metro station and hopped on the train.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Paris! And I can honestly say I understand what people find so fascinating about the city. There is a vibe there that I’ve only felt in a few cities so far. It may be cliche;however, you will know what I’m talking about once you get there!

x

20140727-115834-43114888.jpg

20140727-115835-43115403.jpg

20140727-115834-43114974.jpg

20140727-115835-43115720.jpg

20140727-115835-43115079.jpg

20140727-115836-43116365.jpg

20140727-115836-43116031.jpg

20140727-115836-43116962.jpg

20140727-115837-43117046.jpg

20140727-115836-43116665.jpg

5 thoughts on “Paris – France

  1. Hi Meagann

    I came across your blog last night while I was doing some research on Emirates and the open day,I tried emailing you but the email bounced back. I have a few questions regarding yhe open day and a few other things. Would you mind sending me an email so I can reply to it with the questions I have? You have a really great blog and I read all through it last night hehe ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks alot! Melissa (also in CT)

  2. Hi Meagan

    I came across your blog last night while I was doing some research on Emirates and the open day. I tried emailing you but the email bounced back. Would you mind emailing me so I can reply with a few questions I have regarding the whole process? I would really appreciate it ๐Ÿ™‚ my email is melissa_d.colby@yahoo.com. congratulations on your graduation you must be super happy and I really enjoy your blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, Melissa

    • Hi E

      Thanks so much for the comment!

      I will be posting another blog within in the next few days. Sorry I’ve been extremely busy with flights and my boyfriend is visiting me at the moment.

      Chat soon
      Meagan
      xx

Leave a Reply

