Training

After settling into my apartment my room mate arrived! I was so excited to meet her as living in a three bedroom apartment by yourself is very lonely. Her name is Alice and she is from Italy… We were happy to find out that we were meant to be in the same batch.

The first Sunday after arriving we had our first day of Induction. This is when we were introduced to our batch and we had a few team building exercises. Unfortunately I was moved to a different batch so I was no longer in the same batch as Alice. The first week is a busy time were we had informative sessions, admin (like uniform fitting!!!) and batch activities.

Week 1 & 2 – SEP

These two weeks were my favorite. SEP training which stands for Safety, Equipment and Procedures. My batch was lucky enough to have amazing trainers who kept us interested and motivated the entire duration of our training. I went from knowing nothing about aircrafts to knowing all the ins and outs, including all the aviation terminology we have to use! My favorite day has to have been the last day which is when we preformed our ditching exercise and we got to slide down the emergency exit slides. As much as it is fun and exciting it is also the toughest training. There are many exams and practicals that are compulsory to pass. I would highly recommend that you watch Ultimate Airport Dubai – National Geographic.

Week 3 – GMT

GMT stands for Group Medical Training. This week went fairly quickly. In this training we learnt how to preform CPR, how to deliver a baby and many more interesting medical procedures that can help one in everyday life. Throughout the training we were assessed (practical) each day on something we had learnt the day before then on the fifth day we wrote our final examination.

Week 4 – Image&Uniform and Security 

Image and uniform was were our uniforms were checked if they fit correctly. We were shown a few tips on how to eat properly, how to get into a good sleeping pattern, nail care and skin care. This was very helpful as I wasn’t that clued up on all of these grooming tips. In South Africa all I used to get done was my hair and nails every now and then….
Security we learnt some self defense and how to restrain someone which is a good skill to have.

Week 5 & 6 – Service 

The last stretch of training. It was interesting, we learnt what phrases to use when speaking to customers, in the airports and how to behave on board. During our Service training we had to wear our uniform everyday which was so exciting for all us ab-initios. The final stage was us receiving feedback on our overall performance during the service training.

If you have any questions please email me.

x

20140110-143847.jpg

20140110-144008.jpg

20140110-144305.jpg

20140110-144313.jpg

20140110-144317.jpg

20140110-144022.jpg

5 thoughts on “Training

  1. Hi Meagan, congrats on getting the job with Emirates 🙂

    I have a question regarding training. Do you at any point have to swim without a life jacket? Since Emirates doesn’t mention any swimming-related requirements in their website I am not sure about this.

    Thanks in advance! 🙂

    • Hi Silvia

      Thanks so much for your post!

      Not to worry, at all times you will be wearing a life jacket.
      During my training we only had one swimming exercise. The distance we had to swim/float is not that far at all.

      I hope that will put your mind at ease a little bit.

      Meagan x

      • Thank you for your reply! I’m not such a great swimmer so I was worrying about this. I am still a wannabe waiting for the next Open Day but it never hurts to be prepared 🙂

        All the best!

  2. Hi pretty Meagan !

    I am from Kuala Lumpur . Have you reach here yet ? Hehe . I love your blog . I read all your stories without missing or skipping anything . I always dream to work with Emirates but kinda scared and not ready for any dissappoinment HAHA . I have few questions to ask because I seriously NEVER fly ! HAHA .

    i. Is there any unruly passenger on board and how will you handle it ?
    ii. Regarding the task during your assessment day on solving the issue of only 2 rooms available . How is your answer ? To whom you give the priority ?

    Looking forward for your reply dear Meagan ! You can email me on ikaglamaria@yahoo.com . Xoxo from KUL !

    • Hi Ika

      Thank you so much for your post and your kind words. There is no need to be frightened. All you can do is try your best and if you don’t make it through then you can always go again and again. When I went to the Open Day I honestly was not expecting to make it through. I went to gain experience for when I was ready.

      And don’t worry about not flying because before Emirates I had never been overseas and only had two short domestic flights. After your training you will be very confident on the aircraft’s as all the training is very thorough!

      Meagan
      x

Leave a Reply

